Important UNISON elections – make sure you use your vote!

Ballot papers are landing for elections to UNISON’s National Executive Council (NEC). The NEC is the most senior body of members in the union, and it makes the most important decisions on how UNISON can be the best possible trade union for you and your colleagues at work. You may not have heard of the NEC before but it is a really important election and we hope as many members as possible complete the ballot papers and return them straight away. We appreciate that not all candidates will be known to members so your branch committee has nominated:

Yorkshire & Humberside Regional Seats

  • David Syms (Male Seat)
  • Maz Cotterill (Female Seat)
  • Julie Marsland (Female Seat)
  • Rhian Hawthorn (Reserved seat)

National Local Government Seats

  • Mark Fergurson (General Seat)
  • Sean Fox (Male Seat)
  • Helen Gray (Female Seat)
  • Maxine Young (Female Seat)

National Disabled Member Seats

  • Katrina Murray (Female Seat)
  • Angela Hamilton (General Seat)

National Black Members Seats

  • Manjula Kumari (Female Seat)
  • Annette Heslop (Female Seat)
  • Ash Silverstone (Male Seat)
  • Mitsey Harmon-Russell (General Seat)

Your branch committee have nominated them because they think they are the best candidates who will always do what is best for members of this branch, across the region and Unison members throughout the UK. They are all experienced trade union activists and will:

  • Put members’ voices first
  • Lead the union’s fight for better pay for all members
  • Challenge discrimination and inequality
  • Fight for well funded public services
  • Promote equality and diversity for all

These candidates will build a union which fights and wins for public services.

If you became a member within the last 3 months you will not be eligible for a vote this time.

Your ballot pack contains a prepaid envelope so it will cost you nothing to vote.  You must vote by 19 May 2023 but we recommend you do it as soon as possible.

If you haven’t received your ballot papers by 25 April please call the union’s helpline 0800 0857 857 and request a new set.

NEC Election page – including list of all candidates

All you need to know about the NEC elections

Democracy in action – read our General Secretary’s blog